Wednesday, January 7, 2009

USA:Mindy Grossman, Zac Posen, & Les Steiger to be honored

USA:Mindy Grossman, Zac Posen, & Les Steiger to be honored

The Fashion Scholarship Fund has selected the eight Finalists for its Geoffrey Beene National Scholarship Award and will announce the four Winners live at the 2009 FSF Geoffrey Beene Fashion Scholarship Dinner on January 7th at the New York Marriott Marquis Hotel. Each winner will receive a $25,000 scholarship award.

The 8 finalists are presenting their Case Studies to FSF's Board of Governors in New York on January 5th and 6th and the 4 winners will be announced live on January 7th before hundreds of the industry's top professionals and advocates at the Geoffrey Beene Fashion Scholarship Dinner.

Hundreds of college students from around the country applied for the Geoffrey Beene National Scholarship Award, which is considered the premier scholarship for students interested in fashion.

FSF is awarding an additional $400,000 throughout the year to 80 students to further its commitment to cultivating exceptional students interested in fashion into the next generation of the industry's leaders. FSF has invited all eighty fashion scholars and 8 Finalists to attend the January 7th Dinner, with each being hosted by different FSF corporate sponsors.

Following the Awards presentation, FSF will honor Mindy Grossman (CEO, HSN, Inc.), Zac Posen (Fashion Designer), and Les Steiger (SVP GMM Men's, Macy's Central) for their outstanding contributions to the fashion industry. Iman (CEO, IMAN Cosmetics and IMAN Global Chic), Patricia Field (Award Winning Costume Designer and Stylist), and Ronny Wurtzburger (President, Peerless Clothing) will present the awards respectively. Tim Gunn (Star of Bravo's "Tim Gunn's Guide to Style," mentor on "Project Runway" and CCO at Liz Claiborne Inc.) will host event.

Invited guests include Eva Mendes, David Bowie, Jessica Alba, John Hamm, Sean Avery, Amy Sacco, Susan Posen, Mazdack Rassi, Linda Evangelista, Alex Gonzalez, and Raul Martinez.

Corporate sponsors include Polo Ralph Lauren, Kenneth Cole, Tommy Hilfiger, Phillips-Van Heusen, Estee Lauder, IAC, Levi's, Perry Ellis, Lacoste, Rocawear, Warnaco, Guess, Vanity Fair Corp., Converse, HSN, and Macy's.

The FASHION SCHOLARSHIP FUND is a national non-profit association consisting of influential members of the fashion community, dedicated to promoting education of the fashion arts and business by granting scholarships to talented students and facilitating internships, mentorships, and career programs.

The 8 Geoffrey Beene National Scholarship Award Finalists

Cinque Saunders Cerra; FASHION INSTITUTE OF TECHNOLOGY Major in Fashion Design, concentration on Menswear

Major in Fiber Science and Apparel, concentration in Menswear

Major in Fashion Design
Christine Wu: PARSONS, THE NEW SCHOOL FOR DESIGN Major in Fashion Design - Menswear

Kenny McCollough: UNIVERSITY NORTH CAROLINA - GREENSBORO Major in Consumer Apparel and Retail Studies
Emma Frame: SAVANNAH COLLEGE OF ART AND DESIGN Major in Fashion Design

Major in Apparel Merchandising

Major in Fashion Design